The Town Mayor is elected in May each year by The Town Councillors at a Mayor Making ceremony. They will represent The Town Council at any Civic functions or events both in Petersfield and outside of Petersfield and will preside over Full Council meetings held each month (with the exception of August). They will also promote Petersfield as much as they can.


The badge and chain is worn by The Town Mayor and has a picture of The Hampshire Rose on it.


The Town Mayor will choose a specific charity for the duration that they are Mayor and will run fund raising events for this charity. After a year all the money that is raised will be given to the chosen charity.

The 2022/23 chosen charities are:


The Kings Arms Youth Project

The King’s Arms, affectionately know as ‘KA’ to the young people, is a charity that has been set up to meet the needs of the young people of Petersfield and Alton.  Running a range of different clubs for different age groups and have loads of cool things for them to do such as arts and crafts, cooking or just having space to chill!

Petersfield Foodbank

Petersfield Food Bank is an independent charity run with the support of PACT (Petersfield Area Churches Together).  They distribute food packs on Tues and Fri mornings from the Methodist Church on Station Road between 09:30-11:30.

I’ve a heart for children, as a father, grandfather and former teacher. Children have had it tough the last few years. The pandemic and subsequent lockdowns disrupted their education. In many cases, it disrupted their parents’ work and made life more difficult at home. Life is no easier now and the King’s Arms does great work with children, particularly those in difficult home situations. The current cost of living increases are making life more difficult for many families, some of whom have been finding it difficult for many long months now. The Food Bank is doing terrific work in helping alleviate the worst effects of poverty in our otherwise prosperous town. Where poverty bites, children often suffer badly. I am pleased to be able to support these two splendid causes.

Town Mayor 2022-23

Cllr Peter Clist

Peter has a degree in French from Exeter University and an open degree from the Open University.  He has a PGCE and diplomas in Management Studies and Personnel Management.

He and his wife have lived in Petersfield for eight years, after twenty-eight in Liphook where they raised their three boys.  Peter has a wide experience working in large companies, primarily in Human Resources, at home and in Germany.  He was also school governor for sixteen years in Liphook and four at Herne Junior.  He was also a (paid) tutor of school governors for Hampshire.

Peter now teaches weekly classes in French and Spanish for the local U3A, plays tennis and table tennis locally, helps look after his granddaughter and is an active member of St Mary Magalen Church, Sheet.

View Councillors Register of Interests

8 Avon Close
GU31 4LG

Tel. 01730 262312

John is married with two daughters who attend school locally.  He and his family have lived in Petersfield since 1991.  He has been CEO of London Pictures Limited since 2002 and before that time he was a sales/marketing director for IBM for 14 years.  He has a BA in marketing, an MBA, is a Fellow with the Chartered Institute of Marketing and a Phd at Royal Holloway University of London.  He is also a life member of the British Academy of Film and Television.  He enjoys walks in the South Downs National Park, football (lifelong Pompey supporter), visiting the Chawton House Library and Gardens and time with family.

View Councillors Register of Interests

Deputy Mayor 2022-23

Cllr JC Crissey
Close Search Window
Skip to content